Israel And Scripture In Correct Context

i’ve been thinking about israel a lot these last few weeks in detail (the whole “israel issue” has been on my heart now for over a year). i think that although there were physical things that may have triggered some thoughts in me (such as the “master builder” production and our 72 hour retreat…which israel was a big focus), i believe i have been nailing things out in regards to israel and my beliefs in my personal devotion time with God. He is the One i believe that has caused questions and thoughts to surface in my mind and life.

one of the things i have been really pondering is scripture that we have taken in the church and have ran with…that in its original context…were promises for israel or were talking in someway about israel. i believe the Word of God is two-sided and speaks to many peoples and issues at the same time (something i will be addressing soon) but i believe the church as a whole, for years, have thrown away all the original context to some of our “favorite scriptures”. here are some i have been reading in the last day or so (these scriptures have been resounding in me…therefore any “!!!” i write in this post are directed to me…lol…i’m really blogging to myself):

For the Scripture says,”Everyone who believes in him will not be put to shame.”
For “everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”
How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching? And how are they to preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news!”
So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.

these are some frequently quoted passages from romans 10. but what people don’t realize is that from romans 9 (acually paul starts this talk at the end of chapter 8…”what can separate us {including jews} from the love of Christ…) to romans 11 (and beyond), paul is talking about israel’s purpose in this world. how they have NOT been replaced or thrown away…but “one day all of israel will be saved.” (romans 11:26)

For the gifts and the calling of God are irrevocable. (romans 11:29)

here paul is not talking about God giving you awesome basketball skills whether or not you use them for His glory (although it can apply to that). paul is talking about the covenant position and calling of israel…from the days of abraham.

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. (romans 12:1)

this is probably one of the highest quoted verses in all the Bible…but it comes on the heels of paul’s thesis for israel. he was speaking about how we we saved to entice the jewish people to God through jealousy..SO present your bodies to God…and live holy….that’s how we will entice them!

Enlarge the place of your tent, and let the curtains of your habitations be stretched out; do not hold back; lengthen your cords and strengthen your stakes. For you will spread abroad to the right and to the left, and your offspring will possess the nations and will people the desolate cities. (isaiah 54:2-3)

this is a verse quoted regularly for church building campaigns. we love to take this “word of God” for ourselves. but this prophecy is for the Jewish people!!! it’s saying that israel will be ruling the earth…it will be the greatest nation on the earth one day. this prophecy has not come to pass yet!

no weapon that is fashioned against you shall succeed, and you shall confute every tongue that rises against you in judgment. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD and their vindication from me, declares the LORD.” (isaiah 54:17)

this verse kills me. it talks about the protection God offers His servants…but specifically…ISRAEL. but there is one portion of scripture that is a knife in my heart (in a good way…lol):

When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit on his glorious throne. Before him will be gathered all the nations, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. And he will place the sheep on his right, but the goats on the left. Then the King will say to those on his right, Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me. Then the righteous will answer him, saying, Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you? And the King will answer them, Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me. Then he will say to those on his left, Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me. Then they also will answer, saying, Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you? Then he will answer them, saying, Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me. And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life. (matthew 25:31-46)

did you see the emphasis? Jesus was talking to the jews ABOUT THE NATIONS (that’s you and me) at the end of the age. Jesus talks about judging the gentiles (nations) and what does He judge them for? HOW THEY TREATED HIS BROTHERS…THE JEWS!!!!! so for those of you that only believe what’s in red…there you go. lol that verse alone (but i have many others) has sent my life on a quest to always remember and reach our thout to the jewish people. i know the promise (due to its part of God’s EVERLASTING covenant with abraham…and therefore israel) is still active..that God will bless those who bless israel (whether by word or deed) and curse those who curse israel (whether by word or deed).

i encourage you to think on these scriptures and when you read the Bible…to see the original context of the passages. to see that God still loves israel and that they are in the very center of God’s endtime plans. the “replacement theology” view that has been so preached in america is literally the thoughts of the anti-christ spirit. it will most likely be the anti-christ’s thesis one day on why he should destroy the jews.

God, forgive your church (the elder brother) for hating and despising your longing for israel (the prodigal son / younger brother) to return back to you.

5 comments on “Israel And Scripture In Correct Context

  1. Karen Eoriatti says:

    Thanks so much for putting this in words. God bless you as you share and may many come to see that the Lord does not change his mind….

  2. Just A Late Night Update « Matthew Manchester says:

    […] the last few days, my israel post has become extremely popular. but more importantly, i am burning with a fire i can’t […]

  3. Josh says:

    Great post. You may be interested in this too: http://www.americansforisrael.com/

  4. Matthew says:

    thanks josh. i like the site…i’m just not a big ron paul fan. 🙂 but at least there’s a heart for israel that he has.

  5. […] some thoughts on how to view and pray for Israel, click here. Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailPrintTumblrPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This […]

Leave a Reply

