To My Mother

P496

Time.

Time changes everything.

Time changes perception.

Time showed me how foolish I was.

I remember times where I looked up to other mothers and women, thinking they were the greatest overcomers I knew.

I remember thinking that other mothers love their children more than mine own.

I remember thinking “if only I could live with them, things would be different.”

And I remember the day I dropped all those ignorant childish notions and saw you for who you are, who God made and refine you to be.

Time gave me things I now know, not just things I feel.

I know that I have never seen a more devoted woman to her family than you.

I know that few people have been through half of what you been through and lived to speak of it with joy and victory.

I know that even in my stubbornness and stupidity, you loved me.

I know you move me to be the very best spouse and parent I can be and you have given me a unbelievable example to be so.

I know that your legacy will be generations long.

I know that (outside of Jesus) there is no person I’m more thankful to for my life. You raised me, guided me and helped me become the person I am today.

I know that God blessed me by giving me a mother like you.

Time continues to show me God’s goodness in and because of you.

And time will allow me to better show my love to you in word and deed.

I love you. Happy Mother’s Day.

One comment on “To My Mother

  1. Beautifully written. Inspires me to do better for my own children. ❤️

Leave a Reply

